top of page

5 Books Featuring Black Characters for Back-To-School

It’s that time of year again—except this September will be very different. No matter what difficult decision you have come to regards schooling your child(ren) or setting up your classroom, I wanted to make your book choices a little easier.


I’ve put together a quick list of 5 books that you can add to your bookshelf at home or to your classroom. They are about starting school, feeling welcomed and believing in oneself.


If you are looking for more book lists, or want to know more about why diverse books are important you can find that here. I will continue to share books during the next few months on my #WeeReadsWednesday on IG. If you enjoy all the books that I am sharing, please make sure to like, comment, follow and share.


Looking forward to hearing which books you chose to #diversifyyourbookshelf and/or your #antiracistclassroom


Wishing everyone a happy and safe return to school!

(*) indicates books written by a Black author



Derrick Barnes


Anna McQuinn


Alexandra Penfold

Jacqueline Woodson


Grace Byers





***Note: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

bottom of page