top of page

10 Books with Black Characters to Add to Your Baby/Toddler's Bookshelf

Updated: Jul 21, 2020

If you have been following me for a while on Instagram, you would know that reading is a big part of my son's everyday life. For the past year, I've shared lots of books (many with Black Characters) that we read at home under #WeeReadsWednesday.

You can read all about why we read with our son, the importance of reading with your kid(s) as well as why I started this initiative here.

I've put together a list of 10 books focused on babies and toddlers but many would still be quite suitable for children who are 6 or 7.


Looking forward to hearing which books you chose to #diversifyyourbookshelf


(*) indicates books written by a Black author


Laura Gehl

Atinuke

JaNay Brown-Wood

Connie Schofield-Morrison

Derrick Barnes

Anna McQuinn


Oge Mora


Bunmi Laditan

Ezra Jack Keats

Mahogany L Browne





***Note: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

bottom of page